played 27th Aug 1994

SPA encountered little difficulty when winning the Killarney Oils O’Sullivan Cup played in the Fitzgerald Stadium on Saturday. Pat O'Neill pointed for Spa From the throw-in and centre forward Mike McAuliffe added a second before wing back Cyril Morris opened Firies’ account after 15 minutes with a point.

Firies were now winning possession at midfield where Donal Daly was in fine form. But Their finishing was poor and they had three wides in a five-minute spell. The losers’ defence put in some sterling work during this period, with Eamon O’Connor, Noel McCarthy, Cyril Morris and Eamon Kennedy to the fore.

However, Spa regained the upperhand and midfielder Mossie Cronin and forwards Sean Moynihan, Mike McAuliffe and John Doyle (0-2) sent over a series of points to leave the half time scores : Spa 0-7, Firies 0-2, Firies second point coming from Jerry O’Sullivan.

On the resumption, Spa goalkeeper Aidan Moynihan made a great save and then John Doyle opened the second half with a Spa point. Doyle was again instrumental in creating Spa’s next score when he was fouled going through and Mike McAuliffe pointed, following a free by Mce Coffey.

Sean Moynihan added a further point for Spa from a free after 10 minutes but then his side went through a lean period during which Firies regained the upperhand. A fine movement , started by Firies’ full back Noel McCarthy was continued by Stephan Flynn and when he soloed through and parted to Jerry O’Sullivan, he fired home a fine goal.

Full forward Con O’Connor pointed for Firies and Donal Daly added another from the 45 metre mark to leave the scores midway through the second half : Spa 0-10, Firies 1-04. Firies now enjoyed a lot of possession but were unable to penetrate a strong Spa Defence in which Ger Cronin, Anthony Morris, Dan Kennedy and Garret Doolan stood out.

The Spa forwards regained the initiative and with further points by Sean Moynihan, Mike McAuliffe and Conor Gleeson, to just one point from a free by Firies Jerry Sullivan ran out comfortable winners.

Scorers for Spa : Michael McAuliffe (0-04), Sean Moynihan and John Doyle (0-03 each), Mossie Cronin, Conor Gleeson and Pat O’Neill (0-01 each).

For Firies :Jerry O’Sullivan (1-02), Cyril Morris, Donal Daly and Con O’Connor (0-01 each).

Referee: Con Carrroll.

Copyright The Kerryman

Back to Top