played 13th Sept 1992

This O'Sullivan Cup final between Kilcummin and Scartaglin at Killarney on Sunday was a close and most entertaining affair all through. Scartaglin, aided by a slight breeze in the opening half, opened at a blistering pace and had early points from Freddy Casey, Ger Dunlea and centre-back Pat O’Sullivan, who soloed deep into attack to send over from 40 metres.

Donal Dwyer opened Kilcummin's account when he sent over from 25m in the 12th minute and a minute later Diarmuid O'Callaghan took a pass from Brendan O'Donoghue before kicking over a neat point from 20 metres. A good passing movement involving Niall Mangan, Denny O'Connor and Mike O'Leary ended with the latter slotting over the equaliser and from the kick out Diarmuid O'Callaghan was fouled and Donal Dwyer tapped over the resultant free to edge Kilcummin ahead.

This was the signal for Scartaglin to raise their game and their chief marksman, Freddy Casey, sent a 40m free between the posts ,to tie the scoring. Ger Dunlea, Freddy Casey and Brian O’Connor had points in the 26th,27th,28th minutes, but almost on the call of half-time Kilcummin’s Michael O’Leary finished John Kerins centre to the net to tie the scores at 1-4 to 0-7.

In the second half, the turning point for the winners came in the 12th minute. Donal Dwyer, was fouled and his free was finished to the net by Dinny O'Connor. A minute later Niall Mangan stretched Kilcummin's lead to four points. Scartaglin tried desperately to get back into the game, but the winners maintained their lead to the finish. In fact, they pulled six points clear at one stage. Freddy Casey equalised for Scartaglin from the penalty spot but time was against them.


Kilcummin: D. Fleming, P. Healy, T. Moynihan, F. McCarthy, M. Morrissey, M. Doolan, D. Guerin (capt,0-1), M. O'Leary (0-1), J. Kerins, D. O'Connor, N. Mangan (O-3), M. O'Connor, O. Moynihan (0-1), D. Dwyer (1-4), D. O'Ca1laghan (0-2). Sub : Tom O'Leary.

Scartaglin : P. Reidy M. O' Connor, W. O'Connor, L. Rahilly, M. Kearney; P. O'Sullivan (0-2), J. Bassett, T. O'Connor, D. O'Sullivan, G. Dunlea(0-2), F. Casey ( 1-5), L. McCarthy, D. Rahilly(0-1)J. Murphy, B. O'Connor. Sub: Donal Casey

Referee: Denis Reidy Cordal.

Copyright The Kerryman

Back to Top