played 18th March 1979

ST. AGATHA'S, Glenflesk were worthy winners of the Owen O'Sullivan trophy when they defeated Scartaglin by 4-9 to 3-3 in the final of the East Kerry Junior Championship(1978) at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday last.

Glenflesk aided by a strong easterly wind dominated play in the first half. Despite the efforts of such as Billy Fleming ,M. Coakley and B. Riordan, Scartaglin were unable to contain the fitter Glenflesk forwards good use of a liberal supply of the ball.

A sound half-back line in which Kevin O'Donoghue dominated, took full advantage of the strong wind while P. Clerkin was in top form at centrefield.Clerkin was on hand to score a goal midway through the first half as was John O'Donoghue, who goaled after taking a clever pass from name-sake Gerard.

In the second half, Scartaglin made a spirited rally, with sustained pressure mainly from the midfield pairing of J. Kerins and J. Reilly. John Murphy, center forward and later at full forward, hit a purple patch during this period, scoring three goals, two from well taken penalties. However, these were partially negated at the other end through goals by D. Crowley and D.J. O'Sullivan, which put Glenflesk in a comfortable position.

Glenflesk: M. O'Donoghue, P. O'Donoghue, D.J. O'Sullivan, Jerh O'Donoghue, John O'Donoghue, Kevin O'Donoghue, Gerard O'Donoghue, P. Clerkin, Jerry O'Donoghue,J. Kelly, Paddy O'Donoghue, D. Crowley.
Subs: F. Bartlett, V. Lynch.

Scartaglin: J. O'Sullivan, T. Fleming, B. Fleming, T. O'Connor, M. Coakley, T. Dinneen, J. Casey, J. Kerins, J. Reidy, B. Riordan, J. Murphy, M. Murphy, F. Casey, C. Keane, D. Kerins,
Subs: C. Coakley, N. Cronin.

Refree: Billy McCarthy (Gneeveguilla).

Copyright The Kerryman

Back to Top