played 2nd Nov 2003

A more productive Currow B side, that quite simply took the scoring chances that came their way, eased to an impressive and deserved O'Sullivan Cup victory over Dr Crokes B at Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney on Sunday to claim their first East Kerry Junior Championship title.

This was first time Currow's junior team won the O'Sullivan Cup, although their senior side did win the trophy back in 1986 when Mick Galway and Sunday's captain, Sean O'Connor, were part of the side that defeated Cordal.

Currow won because they showed greater accuracy and enterprise up front, and when the squeeze came on them by

Crokes at a vital stage in the third quarter they got a crucial goal that quickly and effectively killed off that brief Crokes rally.

Dr Crokes had started the better side, but they were unable to translate an abundance of possession into early scores, due in no small measure to a tight marking Currow defence, where Tadhg Howard and James Flynn were particularly attentive. Conversely, with a limited supply of possession it was Currow who took their chances and three pointed frees from Liam Walshe put Currow ahead before Dr Crokes got their first score through Shane Myers, in the 18th minute.

John Buckley added a great point from the wing but Pa Moloney replied after good work by Denis Corridan and James Jones. Karl McMahon and Bryan O'Donoghue were impressive in the Crokes defence, and attacked out of defence at every opportunity, but Crokes still found scores hard to come by, while Tone Brosnan and Liam Walshe added to Currow’s lead as they led 0-6 to 0-3 at the break. It wasn't the most commanding lead, given the wind advantage, but Currow must have been pleased with their defensive display during that opening half.

Jack Dennehy increased Currow's lead on the resumption, but Shane Myers and Pa Moloney cut the deficit to just two, six minutes into the new half. Crokes were more involved now, with Karl McMahon, Pa Moloney and Casey getting good pos- session but they had a let off when Tone Brosnan blazed wide when put through by James Flynn. Liam Walshe and Shane Myers swapped points before Currow struck for a vital goal in the 47th minute. It came when a free by Liam Walshe came back off the upright and Kevin Casey pounced to fist the ball to the net. Currow now had the bit between their teeth and belying his years, veteran midfielder Sean O'Connor roared into the game, giving great support to Paudie Collins.

It was all Currow from here to the finish and they outscored Crokes by four scores to one against a Dr Crokes side that never got fully going. Kieran Brosnan did hit a post, and Karl McMahon's shot was charged down as Crokes never threw in the towel, but Currow ran out deserving winners. On the day they had fine performances from Tadhg Howard, James Flynn, Paudie Collins, Sean O'Connor, John Buckley and Kevin Casey, while Karl McMahon, Bryan O'Donoghue, Ambrose O'Donovan, Shane Myers and Pa Moloney were best for a disappointing Dr Crokes side.

Currow B: Kevin Moran, James Galway, Tadhg Howard, Thomas Mitchell, Kevin O'Sullivan, James Flynn, James Cahill, Paudie Collins (0-1), Sean O'Connor (capt.) Kevin Casey (1-0) Des Collins, Liam Walshe (0-7, 7f) Tone Brosnan (0-2) Jack Dennehy (0-1) John Buckley (0-1). Subs: Cathal Daly, Tom Fleming.

Crokes B: Mike Dalton, Luke Quinn, Karl McMahon, Neil Kelders, Kevin Leahy, Bryan O'Donoghue, Colm Fuller, Denis Corridan, Ambrose O'Donovan, Mark Cooper, Kieran Brosnan, James Jones, Shane Myers (0-5), Vince Casey, Pa Moloney (0-2).~Pat O'Shea, Mike Cooper, Michael O'Grady.

Referee: Johnny Cahill (Rathmore)

Ger Galvin presented the Owen O'Sullivan Memorial Cup to Sean O'Connor, and Liam Walshe received the Man of the Match trophy, presented by the O'Sullivan family.

Copyright The Kingdom

Back to Top