Dr Crokes

played 13th Dec 1998

Dr. Crokes are O'Sullivan champions, following an extra time victory over Firies in this replayed final at Fitzgerald Stadium on Sunday last.

The town side had first use of the wind and had three points on the board before Donal Daly opened Firies’ account after 15 minutes. As the half wore on , Firies came more into the game, but Crokes finished stronger and led by 0-06 to0-02 at the break. Deservedly so.

Firies pressed strongly on the re-start but the Dr Crokes rearguard , well marshelled by John Galvin, were playing very well. The first 13 minutes were scoreless, but substitute Tim Foley, who was set up by Thomas Corbett, gave Firies a lifeline with a fine goal. Corbett himself almost got in for another goal soon after. Cormac Foley, equalised for Firies and Jerry O'Sullivan had an excellent point from 40 yards to give them the lead.

Crokesbest forward , Jonathon Sparling, brought his team back to level terms and then Tim Foley and Billy Hennigan exchanged points to leave the sides deadlocked at 1-5 to 0-8 after 60 minutes.

Firies had the better of the first period or extra time. With Donal Daly and Conn O’Connor on top around midfield and Jerry O’Sullivan very accurate up front. They were leading by two points and looking comfortable when Jonathon Sparling struck for a vital Crokes goal just before the change over. The town side turned over 1-9 to 1-8 to the good, with the wind advantage to come.

On the re-start, Dermot O’Connor saved well from David Moloney before Tomas Corbett had an inspirational equaliser for Firies. David Moloney was to prove the match winner for Crokes when he landed a great point from 50 yards. Firies made a late effort to snatch the equaliser, but Tomas Corbett, after a fine run was penalized by referee Johnny Cahill and Dr Crokes held on for a victory that they just about deserved.

After the game, East Kerry Board vice-chairman, Donal O’Keeffe presented the cup to Dr Crokes captain Tommy Brosnan.

Dr Crokes : Kieran Cremin, Colm O’Shea, Finian Moran, Kevin Smith, Batt Moriarty, John Galvin, Neil Kelders, Eoin Brosnan (0-1), David Malone (0-2), Jonathon Sparling (1-4), Larry Madden, Vince Cooper, Billy Hennigan (0-3), Mike Buckley, Tommy Brosnan .

Subs: Roland Neher, James Jones, James Cahillane, Edward O’Sullivan.

Firies : Dermot O’Connor, Eamon Kennedy, Neil McCarthy, Eamon Foley, Nial Corbett, Padraig Tehan, James Casey, Donal Daly (0-3), Con O’Connor, Stephan Flynn, Michael O’Sullivan, Jerry O’Sullivan (0-3), Eamon Shanahan, Thomas Corbett (0-1), Cormac Foley (0-1).

Sub: Tim Foley (1-1), Vincent Horgan, Mike Allen, Jeremiah O'Sullivan.

Referee : Johnny Cahill (Rathmore).

Copyright The Kerryman

Back to Top