played 24th April 1976

A huge bonfire blazed at Fossa Cross on Saturday 24th, after Fossa had become the first ever winners of the 0wen O'Sullivan Perpetual Cup by defeating Dr. Crokes by 2-8 to 2-5 in the 1975 East Kerry Junior Final replay.

Fossa looked to be walking away with the game, in the first half until the Crokes scored a penalty, and gave Fossa a few very anxious moments, until a great goal from Ger O'Connell sealed the issue a few minutes from time.

Fr. Galvin, President East Kerry Board, presented the Cup to the very worthy Fossa captain Bernie Cronin.

Team: Michael Spillane, Seamus Murphy, James Houlihan, Frank McCarthy, Dermot Griffin, Ger O'Connell (1-0), John Collins, Bernie Cronin (Captain, 0-01), Donie Foley (0-02), Brendan Fitzgerald (0-03), Sean Conlon, Noel Fitzgerald, Aidan McDonald (1-0), Kieran Coffey (0-01), Brian Fitzgerald (0-01), Sub. Donal Riley.

Copyright The Kerryman

Back to Top